Protect Your Family With Toyota Safety Sense

A lineup of Toyota vehicles featuring Toyota Safety Sense technology.Safety is a significant consideration when it comes to shopping for any vehicle. Most come equipped with a certain set of safety features, but Toyota is setting the bar high. All its vehicles come standard with the Toyota Safety Sense Suite, which includes some of the normally optional technological safety features. Here’s an overview of the features offered.

Pre-Collision System With Pedestrian Detection

The pre-collision system with pedestrian detection employs the use of a camera inside the vehicle and a sensor or laser to determine whether a pedestrian or vehicle is in front of you. By detecting pedestrians, this system helps reduce the chances of colliding with someone by using audio and visual cues to prompt you to take action, and it may apply brake assist for additional braking power. For times when you’re unable to react quickly enough, it brakes automatically to prevent a frontal impact from happening or, in the case that an accident does occur, reduce impact severity.

The Toyota Sienna, Sequoia, Avalon, Tacoma, Prius, Prius c, Yaris Liftback, RAV4, RAV4 Hybrid, Avalon Hybrid, Land Cruiser, Camry, Camry Hybrid, Highlander, Prius Prime, Tundra, Highlander Hybrid, Corolla, and C-HR all have this feature, though the Yaris Liftback does not come with pedestrian protection. Corolla Hatchback employs the same technology for its bicyclist detection feature.

Lane Departure Alert

Lane departure alert activates at speeds of 32 mph, informing you when your vehicle departs the lane on a road with visual road markings. The visual and audio alerts prompt you to bring the vehicle back into its lane.

The Corolla Hatchback, RAV4, Highlander Hybrid, Avalon, Camry Hybrid, Sienna C-HR, Corolla, Prius Prime, Camry, Highlander, RAV4 Hybrid, Avalon Hybrid, and Prius come with this feature.

Automatic High Beams

Automatic high beams activate at speeds of 25 mph or more, allowing drivers to see more clearly at night. A camera helps determine when the high beams are necessary for seeing another car’s headlights or taillights. It switches back to low beams when possible to avoid distracting other drivers. Using this may help with earlier pedestrian detection as well.

All vehicles that come equipped with Toyota Safety Sense have this feature.

Dynamic Radar Cruise Control

Dynamic radar cruise control (DRCC) is for use on the highway. It allows you to drive at a preset speed and helps drivers maintain an adequate distance away from them. DRCC automatically slows down your vehicle if the car in front of you is driving more slowly. If you need to slow down further, it alerts you via visual and audio cues. Once the slower vehicle is no longer there, the DRCC climbs back up to your preset speed.

The RAV4 Hybrid, Sequoia, Tundra, Tacoma, Corolla, Highlander Hybrid, Highlander, RAV4, Land Cruiser, Camry, and Sienna have this feature.

These are just some of the features that Toyota Safety Sense has to offer. Some features vary between vehicles. Clearly, Toyota vehicles have some of the best safety features out there — because staying safe shouldn’t be an extra feature. Check out Titus-Will Toyota’s inventory to find the right vehicle equipped with Toyota Safety Sense today.


Image used with permission via / cropped from original